

City of Albuquerque

Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Government Center One Civic Plaza Albuquerque, NM 87102

Minutes

2022 Redistricting Committee

District 1: Victor Segura, Dan Aragon (Alt.)
District 2: Keith Romero, Joaquin Baca (Alt.)

District 3: Cherise Quezada, Luis Hernandez Jr (Alt.) District 4: Mark Reynolds, Rebecca Latham (Alt.) District 5: Steve Smothermon, Robert Aragon (Alt.) District 6: Cathryn McGill, Rosendo Najar (Alt.)

District 7: Travis Kellerman, Heather Berghmans (Alt.)

District 8: David Buchholtz, Kevin Powers (Alt.)
District 9: Kenneth Pascoe, Thomas R. Stull (Alt.)

Wednesday, March 9, 2022

5:30 PM

Via Zoom Video Conference

Attendance: District 1: Victor Segura, Dan Aragon (Alt.)

District 2: Keith Romero, Joaquin Baca (Alt.)

District 3: Cherise Quezada, Luis Hernandez Jr (Alt.) District 4: Mark Reynolds, Rebecca Latham (Alt.)

District 5: Robert Aragon (Alt.)
District 6: Cathryn McGill (Chair)

District 7: Travis Kellerman (Vice Chair), Heather Berghmans (Alt.)

District 8: David Buchholtz, Kevin Powers (Alt.)
District 9: Kenneth Pascoe, Thomas R. Stull (Alt.)

Excused: District 5: Steve Smothermon

District 6: Rosendo Najar (Alt.)

The meeting is available via to watch YouTube: https://youtu.be/A8vs j0 aZ8

- A. Opening Welcome and Introductions (Petra Morris, :28)
- B. Election of Chair and Vice Chair (13:05)

Robert Aragon nominated David Buchholtz for Chair. Travis Kellerman nominated Cathryn McGill for Chair.

Cathryn McGill was elected by the following vote: (Passes 5-4)

Cathryn McGill

For: Romero, Quezada, Reynolds, McGill and Kellerman

David Buchholtz

For: Segura, Aragon, Buchholtz and Pascoe

Cathryn McGill nominated Travis Kellerman for Vice Chair. Victor Segura nominated himself for Vice Chair.

Travis Kellerman was elected Vice Chair by the following vote: (Passes 5-4)

Travis Kellerman

For: Romero, Quezada, Reynolds, McGill and Kellerman

Victor Segura

For: Segura, Aragon, Buchholtz and Pascoe

- C. Resolution (R-21-226) overview and committee framework (Brian Sanderoff, Michael Sharp, Brittany Poss, 20:36)
- D. Principles of Redistricting (Brittany Poss, 36:16)
- E. Census Population Statistics of Albuquerque (Brittany Poss, 53:51)
- F. Public comment (1:08)
- G. Committee discussion and comments (1:18)

NOTICE TO PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES: If you have a disability and require special assistance to participate in this meeting, please contact the Council Office as soon as possible before the meeting date at 505-768-3100. Those in need of hearing assistance may call 711.